Pulak Goswmai elected president of GSA

Online Staff/GUWAHATI, Sept 12: Veteran sports organizer Pulak Goswami was elected as the new president of the Gauhati Sports Association (GSA) while Dhruvajyoti Kalita retained his post as the general Secretary during the Annual General Meeting held at the Tarun Ram Phukan Indoor Stadium here today.
Election was held in seven posts and altogether 93 members casted their votes to elect 8 candidates. Pulak Goswami defeated outgoing president Munin Nobis by 63-30 margin while Dhrubajyoti Kalita won against Kajal Pal Choudhury by 31 votes (62-31).
Manjit Bhagawati (69) and Bhola Boro (48) were elected for the two vice president posts. The other two candidates were Debasish Bose (39) and L Hemanta Singh (27).
Veteran sports organizer Khanin Dutta easily overcame the challenge of Bablu Choudhury for the post of joint secretary. He won the contest by 69-24 votes. L Pranab Singh retained the football secretary post beating Bikash Baruah 51-42 margin while Arup Kalita defeated Manas Nandi by 54-39 to take the post of hockey secretary.
However a tough fight was witnessed for the post of table tennis secretary where current office bearer Gitartha Das finally managed to win the contest by just 3 votes (48-45) against Suresh Kaimal.
The other members who were elected unopposed earlier were: Treasurer:Chhayaram Boro. Vice president (Education): Dilip Kumar Dutta Choudhury. Assistant General Secretary: Ranjit Kumar Sarma and Siddhartha Sankar Deka. Cricket Secretary: Pramod Rajbongshi. Basketball secretary: Kamini Sarma. Badminton secretary: Dipak Patowary. Volleyball secretary: Amba Saikia Patgiri and Athletics secretary: Raghabendra Mazumdar.
IMAGE CAPTION: Newly elected president of the Gauhati Sports Association Pulak Goswami (left) and Secretary Dhruvajyoti Kalita.