Rishav to lead Assam in Mushtaq Ali

Online Staff/GUWAHATI, Dec 22: Top order batsman Rishav Das will lead Assam in the forthcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T-20 Trophy which will kick off in Kolkata from January 10.
The senior selection committee on Tuesday announced a 15-member squad for the meet. There is a lot of surprise in the team this season as several senior cricketers were replaced by juniors in both the bowling and batting departments .
Assam, placed in elite group ‘B’, will face Hyderabad in the opening game on January 10 and the match will be held under flood light. The side will also play their second game under flood light against Tamil Nadu on January 12. The other teams in the group are Bengal, Jharkhand and Odisha.
The BCCI asked all the teams to report at their respective base by January 2 and then they have to undergo quarantine in accordance with the state regulatory authorities. All players and support staff will be undergoing COVID-19 tests on January 2, 4 and 6 at the respective team hotels and after passing the tests, they can begin practice sessions from January 8.
The squad: Rishav Das (Captain), Pallav Kumar Das, Riyan Parag, Saahil Jain, Rajjakuddin Ahmed, Denish Das, Amit Sinha, Mukhtar Hussain, Pritam Das, Arup Das, Mrinmoy Dutta, Rahul Singh, Abhishek Thakuri , Erik Roy and Amlanjyoti Das.
Coach: Ajay Ratra.
Assistant coach: Rajiv Rajbangshi.