Raktim, Ankush in AITA committee

Online Staff/GUWAHATI, Sept 6: Two officials of the All Assam tennis Association-Raktim Saikia and Ankush Dutta- included in the new committee of the All India Tennis Association (AITA) which was constituted during its Annual General Meeting in New Delhi on Sunday.
Raktim Saikia, the president of AATA and former treasurer of AITA, selected as the joint secretary while Ankush Dutta, the secretary of the ATTA, included in 7-member Executive Committee.
All the posts of office bearers as well as the Executive Committee members were filled without the need for a contest and all the contestants were declared elected unopposed. Anil Jain, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, selected as the new President of the organization. Tennis legend Vijay Amritraj also selected as one of the Vice President of the newly constituted committee.
Jain, in his inaugural address, spoke of his commitment to work towards the promotion of tennis and towards increasing the reach of the sport in the country, improvement of infrastructure, coaching and training opportunities and bringing more and higher level of international competition into the country.
He also added: “In collaboration with the AITA Trust, the Delhi Lawn Tennis Association and with support from the Govt, we propose to set up the High-Performance Tennis Academy in Delhi which will be a residential training center for excellence. The primary aim would be to bring together and create a pool of our top junior players and provide them with the best possible training, coaching, nutrition, mental training and every other support to help our most talented and promising juniors to break into the top 30 in Junior Category in the world”..
The Academy will be equipped with the most modern facilities including a dedicated gym, swimming pool, sports medicine center, A-I based performance monitoring and enhancement systems etc. and would be run by a team of the top coaches, trainers, nutritionists, sports psychologists, sports medicine specialists etc.
New committee of AITA:
President: Anil Jain.
Vice Presidents: Hironmoy Chatterjee, Chintan N Parikh, . Navneet Sehgal, Anil Khanna, Bharat N Oza, C S Sunder Raju, Vijay Amritraj and Rajan Kashyap.
Secretary General : Anil Dhupar.
Treasurer: Rohit Rajpal.
Joint Secretaries: Premkumar Karra, Raktim Saikia, Suman Kapur and Sunder Iyer.
Executive Committee: Akhouri B Prasad, Aneil Mahajan, Ankush Dutta, Ashok Kumar, Gurucharan Singh Hora, Murti Gupta and Thomas Paul.