Assam register big win

HOJAI Jan 6: Day two at the 8th Hockey India Sub Junior (Men) National Championship 2018 (B Division) being held at the Hojai Hockey Stadium, Assam saw some tough matches being played in front of cheering local crowds.
In the first match of the day, Hockey Rajasthan beat Hockey Madhya Pradesh 2-0 in their Pool A clash. At the start Hockey Madhya Pradesh’s strong defence kept Hockey Rajasthan, who had scored a stunning 9-0 win against Hockey Telangana on the opening day, from scoring early on. It was only in the 34th minute that they found a breakthrough when skipper Sachin successfully converted a penalty corner. Meanwhile their defence stuck together to keep Hockey Madhya Pradesh from equalizing. Manish Choudhary then scored a field goal in the 65th minute to take home the winning points.
In a Pool C encounter, Citizen Hockey XI and Hockey Madhya Bharat played out a goalless draw. Meanwhile, after losing 0-9 in their first match, Hockey Telangana overpowered a stiff challenge from Goans Hockey to win 4-1. Though it was Goans Hockey who opened the scoreboard in the 22nd minute through a field goal by their skipper Daniel Shahu, Hockey Telangana remained patient in their pursuit and kept finding gaps in the striking circle to convert. Their moment of joy came in the 56th minute when Sharib Ahmed equalized. Soon after, their skipper Arvind scored three sensational goals in the 63rd, 64th and 69th minute. His first goal came off a PC while the second goal was a well-converted penalty stroke and the third came off a brilliant field goal that helped gain winning points. In another Pool B match, Bengaluru Hockey Association held Bengal Hockey Association to a goalless draw.
In the Pool B match, Kerala Hockey beat Hockey Puducherry 2-0 with both goals scored by Akhil Krishnan in the 41st and 66th minute. In a Pool C match, Hockey Coorg lost to Hockey Madhya Bharat 0-3 with all three goals by team skipper Irtbaz Khan (15', 27', 42'). Hockey Himachal, on the other hand, beat Hockey Gujarat 8-0. Goals were scored by Rajan (10', 37', 55', 58'), Harpal (16', 49'), Angirus Saklani (60') and Ankush (58'). Hockey Uttrakhand beat Sports Authority of Gujarat- Hockey Academy 1-0 in a closely-fought Pool D match. Ganesh Singh was the lone scorer of the match with his 37th minute field goal.
Meanwhile, hosts Assam Hockey beat Vidharbha Hockey Association 12-0 in their Pool C match. Ankit Kumar starred in their impressive win with goals in 20th, 26th, 30th and 31st minute while Manish Sahani (56', 57', 59') scored thrice, Rahul Verma (17', 22') and Madhurjya Baruah (15', 68') struck twice, Abdullah Khan scored a goal in the 70th minute.