India club (Silchar)

India club enjoy the status of oldest club in Assam .M S Mandi and Kalicharan Pandey were the founder president and the secretary of the club respectively which was established in 1900.The club is situated at Tarapur, near the statue of Rabindra Nath Tagore. It was the first club from Assam which took part in the IFA Shield in 1917.Later also they participated in the same competition in 1919, 1921, 1923, 1941, 1945 and 1948. Captain NM Gupta, renowned player and sports organizer of Silchar, played a key role to popular the club in the adjoining areas and different parts of the country. The club produced several top class footballers who represented Assam in different categories. It also finished as runners up in Bordoloi trophy (1954), the prestigious soccer championship of the state.


Gauhati Town club

Established in 1906, Gauhati Town club was the second oldest club of Assam. Captain LB Scot and Hari Krishna Das were the founder president and the secretary respectively. The club achieved first major success in 1927 when they won Prosenjit Cup (introduced 1907), the first soccer tournament of Guwahati. That was the beginning. Gauhati Town club, produced many reputed soccer players of the state, won the first Guwahati soccer league title in 1950.They also took part in Roverse cup (1952), and DCM trophy (1953).1954 was the best year for the club as they won triple crown-League, Bordoloi trophy and MC Baruah Shield. Gauhati Town club possibly the only club in Assam which won two major soccer titles of the state-Bordoloi trophy and Independence cup in a single year, 1956. Apart from winning many other tournaments during its long journey the club also bagged the title of Assam club championship in 2001-02 season and took part in the 2nd Division National League.


Maharana club:

Maharana club was formed in 1907; one year after Gauhati Town Club started its journey. Animesh Ganguly, the father figure in Guwahati soccer, played a key role to take the club to a great height. Ganguly himself was a good footballer and he also earned a special space in the history of Guwahati soccer because of his great organizing skill. He was successful to build a good soccer team and it is the particular game that helped Maharana to earn name and fame. The club participated IFA shield on 19 occasions and in this process they created a record of maximum appearances by a club from Assam in the championship. During its long journey Maharana won many big titles which included IFC Shield in Lucknow (1947), Kamala Kumari trophy in Varanasi (1952) along with the Bordoloi trophy and Independence cup. The century-old club also produced two captains of Mohun Bagan team-T Ao and Sarat Dutta. Ao later led India in the Olympic.